Recent Grand National Winners

The Grand National has thrown up many great winners but the one name that became the Nations favourite was of course Red Rum. Red Rum was the most successful horse, winning this great race three times in 1973, 1974 and 1977. The first ever running of the Grand National was in 1837 and was won by "The Duke".

For those of you who love to back an outsider you will be most interested to note that there have being four winners in the Grand National History that have started at 100/1: Tipperary Tim (1928), Gregalach (1929), Caughoo (1947) and Foinavon (1967).

The Grand National is a race where horses come from far and wide to land this great prize. To date only the Irish have managed to take the prize home, the French have had a couple of placed horse and no other country has had an entry that has man aged to finish the course.

A Grand National winner that will be remembered for a as long as the National itself was 1981 winner "Aldaniti" ridden by Bob Champion. Aldaniti had been plagued with injuries throughout his career and Bob Champion had fought to recover from cancer. Aldaniti led from the eleventh fence and beat Spartan Missile, ridden by 54 year old amateur jockey John Thorne, by four lengths.

In more recent years an extremely popular winner was the Irish trained horse Bobbyjo in 1999. Bobbyjo was the first Irish trained horse to win the Grand National since 1975 and was also a double for the Carberry family with Tommy and Paul involved. Amberleigh House was a great winner of the Grand National in 2004 for one simple reason; Ginger McCain. McCain of course was the trainer of the great Red Rum and in 2004 it seemed the whole nation was willing Amberleigh House across the finish and he duly delivered a great performance.

Some important facts that should be remembered in selecting the winning Grand National Form are, nine and ten year olds seem to be an age to stay the right side of with the majority of recent winners coming from this age group. Also when selecting a winner make sure to look at the horses with a nice weight, punters will want to avoid those carrying much more than 11st although we have seen that tend broken in recent years.

Grand National Winners Since The Year 2000

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2016 result Rule The World - 33/1 9 D Mullins M Morris
2015 result Many Clouds - 25/1 8 L Aspell O Sherwood
2014 result Pineau De Re - 25/1 11 L Aspell Dr R Newland
2013 result Auroras Encore - 66/1 11 R Mania S Smith
2012 result Neptune Collonges - 33/1 11 D Jacob P Nicholls
2011 result Ballabriggs - 14/1 10 J Maguire D McCain Jnr
2010 result Dont Push It - 10/1F 10 AP McCoy J O'Neill
2009 result Mon Mome - 100/1 9 L Treadwell V Williams
2008 result Comply Or Die - 7/1 jt Fav 9 T Murphy D Pipe
2007 result Silver Birch - 33/1 10 R Power G Elliott
2006 result Numbersixvalverde - 11/1 10 N Madden M Brassil
2005 result Hedgehunter - 7/1 9 R Walsh W Mullins
2004 result Amberleigh House - 16/1 12 G Lee G McCain
2003 result Monty's Pass - 16/1 10 B Geraghty J Mangan
2002 result Bindaree - 20/1 8 J Culloty N Twiston- Davies
2001 result Red Marauder - 33/1 11 R Guest N Mason
2000 result Papillon - 10/1 9 R Walsh T Walsh